Skip to content

Intuitive Nature - Tools to Connect, Develop and Trust your Intuition

Heart or Fourth Chakra

Know how to balance your heart chakra to embrace your own needs and emotions, and sustain happy and healthy relationships Nov 7, 2019

The fourth chakra is called the HEART Chakra (Anahata) 

The heart chakra is where we see the possibilities of the internal and external world coming into harmony, the world of spirit and the world of form. The heart chakra is the integration point for the seven chakras of the body, because it holds the sacred spark of the divine and the intuition of the Mother.

When the heart chakra symbol is open, we are able to forgive, our lungs are clear and our immune systems are healthy. The higher chakras cannot be assessed till we pass through the heart.

Spiritual Signs in the Heart Chakra

A heavy heart is one that carries resentment and anger from denied feeling and emotions, as well as guilt. To have a healthy heart, you must allow these suppressed emotions to surface, heal, and fall in love with yourselves. Or, suffer from bitterness and lack of forgiveness. An unhealthy heart chakra causes alone feelings and despair. How you love yourselves, you love others. The heart lessons are self-love and forgiveness of yourself.

When the heart chakra is in balance we are relaxed, accepting and interact easily with others and with the demands of the world. We also know when our needs are being compromised and we easily find a balance between external and internal needs. We can deal with the ebbs and flows of emotional relationships, understand their cyclic nature, and accept the changes. When the heart chakra is in balance we can understand our own needs and emotions clearly. We are able to sustain balanced relationships as a result: healthy, happy, and mutually nurturing.

A balanced Heart Chakra means expansion, freedom and growth.

Zodiac signs Aquarius, Gemini and Libra

The Location of the Fourth Chakra

The heart chakra is located near the centre of the breastbone or sternum and represents higher consciousness and love.


The colour associated with the heart chakra is Green. Green symbolizes harmony, creativity, health, abundance and nature. It is the combining of yellow (soul) and blue (spirit). Green, nature’s colour, offers new energy and revitalizes tired nerves.


The Heart chakra is associated with the heart, thymus gland, lower lung and circulatory system. It regulates our interaction with the external world. It controls what we embrace and what we resist. It gives us the balancing ability to keep neither too aloof nor too involved in the world around us. It balances our inner being – our “self” with our environment.

The heart chakra acts as the balance point for all the chakras. It governs our relationships and how we interact with other people. A balanced heart chakra is expressed in acceptance of self and others, personal values and ethics, following one’s unique direction in life.

What if the Heart Chakra is out of balance?

When the heart chakra is out of balance you may find your are tense in your upper torso. You will find yourself sitting with folded arms a lot. You will not enjoy handshakes or hugs from others. When your heart chakra is out of balance you may feel either controlling or controlled in a relationship. You may become critical of the little foibles of others. You may well find yourself having inappropriately strong emotional responses to everyday external stimuli.

Some signs that the Heart Chakra is out of balance are:

  • Lack of self discipline
  • Difficulty in relationships
  • An attempt to live vicariously through another
  • Dependence on someone else for your happiness

Physical/ Medical issues

If the issue is left unattended to, may lead on to more serious issues such as heart diseases , diseases of the Immune System for example, allergies and cancer of the breast, lungs, blood, circulation,

Health issues: high blood pressure, breathing difficulties, circulation problems, shortness of breath, chest pains, disorders of the heart, tension between the shoulders.

Emotional Issues

An imbalance in the heart chakra will be caused by conditional love, mistrust, lack of acceptance, indifference, feelings of bitterness, lack of generosity and emotional hurt. It may start as a hollowness when feeling emotionally hurt or a dull ache when feeling mistrustful of others.

When in balance we are unconditional, trusting, accepting and generous. It only takes one of these emotional conditions to form an imbalance, the intensity of which will be in direct relation. As you become more aware of yourself and the link between your emotional and physical aspects of you, your body responds more quickly to even the slightest emotional imbalance.

Relative Questions

If you an imbalance in your heart chakra. Look at the following questions honestly to help seek balance. 

  • Are you having issues in regards to being unconditional? 
  • Are you able to let go of controlling everything and letting a balance between intellect and your feeling emotions have control?
  • Are you feeling hurt emotionally? 
  • Do you carry a lot of sadness and emotional wounds in your heart that you don’t want to accept and look at?
  • Are you having destructive thoughts about yourself or someone else? 
  • Do you practice true forgiveness by seeing your own faults?
  • Are you facing issues accepting someone or yourself as you are? 
  • Are you being indifferent, are you feeling jealous? 
  • Do you allow yourself time alone for you?
  • Are you feeling bitter about something? 
  • Are you lacking in generosity? 
  • Are you feeling mistrustful or have trust issues?

Things that may help the Heart Chakra

For healing, green is used to balance the vibrations of the nervous system. It is said to aid any heart problem or blood pressure disorder. It is also used to restore tired nerves and will help those in need of more energy.

All the green stones – emerald, green tourmaline, malachite, green jade, chrysoprase, dipotase, peridot, aventurine, moss agate, green jasper – are used with the heart chakra. Green crystal energy is used to resolve blockages and to re-balance the heart chakra.

Although green is the primary colour used with the heart chakra, it can also be effective to use pink stones (such as rose quartz, pink carnelian or rhodonite) if more softness, affection and love seem to be needed in working with the heart chakra.

Include other therapies such as scent and sound therapy to get a better overall balancing. Meditation by holding a dark green crystal over the heart chakra will prove very beneficial. Activities between crystal work should include focused efforts to allow loved ones to truly “be themselves” and focus on true understanding of the needs of others.


Spinach, Broccoli, Cauliflower and Green Tea can help you to cleanse, clear and open up your heart chakra.


As I focus on this intense green light that radiates from my heart, I notice the green/pink gem that lay within, and I am reminded of the unconditional love that I am! I know that I am worth loving. I am who I am and I am proud of who I am! In this space of love I release from my life anyone that does not bring me joy, I choose to be surrounded by positive, loving and successful people. I love myself more with each breath that I take and I love unconditionally!

(A deep breath in) I lovingly acknowledge, accept and appreciate.

“Love is the answer to everything in life, and I give and receive love effortlessly and unconditionally”

Susan Jane – The Intuitist

We are all Naturally Intuitive, it is part of Human Nature. It is our Intuitive Nature

Intuitive Nature

Share this article:

Leave a Comment